Lexington Child Molestation Attorney

Were you arrested for suspicion of molesting a child in Lexington, KY? Without a strong defense, you could face a lengthy prison sentence and a permanent criminal record. A Lexington child molestation attorney at Suhre & Associates, LLC can protect your rights and defend you against the charges. 

Collectively, our lawyers have over 100 years of experience. We’re well-equipped to take on even the most complex criminal case. 

Would you like an experienced lawyer to help you fight your criminal charges? You can start by contacting our law offices in Lexington, Kentucky, at 859-569-4014 to schedule a free consultation today.

How Suhre & Associates, LLC Can Help if You Were Arrested for Child Molestation in Lexington

At Suhre & Associates, LLC, we have a history of successfully defending individuals accused of sex crimes in Lexington. When you’ve been charged with sexually abusing a child, it’s easy to feel hopeless. The damage to your personal and professional reputation will often be immediate–you might feel like you have nowhere to turn for help.

Our Lexington criminal defense lawyers understand what you’re going through. We’ll do everything possible to make sure you have a fair defense. Our number one priority is obtaining a not guilty verdict in your case.

However, we’ll start working behind the scenes before you ever enter the courtroom. We can help you obtain fair bail and handle all legal matters related to your case. 

That means you can count on your lawyer to:

  • Launch a detailed investigation to obtain all evidence in your case
  • Analyze the evidence for any deficiencies, including a forensic analysis of any DNA evidence
  • Develop a personalized defense strategy tailored to the facts of your case
  • Identify any constitutional violations and work to have illegal evidence thrown out
  • Negotiate with prosecutors behind the scenes to reach the best deal possible

Our skilled trial lawyers don’t back down from a fight. We’ll help you understand the implications of any plea bargain that the prosecution offers–and if the deal isn’t fair, we won’t hesitate to advocate for your rights at trial.

Are you interested in learning more about how our Lexington criminal defense attorneys can put 100 years of experience to work for you? Please contact us for a free case review today.

Overview of Child Molestation Laws in Kentucky

It is always illegal for adults to engage in sexual conduct with children in the state of Kentucky. The consequences of any dangerous crime involving children are always harsh. Under Kentucky law, the penalties will vary depending upon the age of both the victim and the defendant.

Were you charged with child molestation in Lexington, KY? The help of an experienced child molestation defense lawyer can make all the difference in your case. Call Suhre & Associates, LLC to schedule a free case review today.

First-Degree Child Molestation in Kentucky

To convict on rape charges, prosecutors must prove that the victim did not consent beyond a reasonable doubt. In child sexual abuse cases, the victim’s lack of consent isn’t always relevant.

You can be charged with sexual abuse in the first degree for engaging in sexual contact with a minor who is under the age of 12 years old. In the eyes of the law, children younger than 12 years old are deemed incapable of consent. In other words, lack of consent is presumed based solely on the child’s age.

If the victim is younger than 12, first-degree charges can apply regardless of the defendant’s age. 

However, under Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 510.110, you can also be charged with first-degree child molestation if you are at least 21 and:

  • Engage in sexual contact with a child younger than age 16
  • Masturbate in the general vicinity of a child younger than age 16, if you know or have reason to know that the child is present
  • Engage in masturbation over the phone or internet while communicating with a child younger than 16, if the child can see or hear the masturbation

If the defendant is a person of authority or occupies a position of trust, first-degree child molestation charges can apply if the child is younger than age 18.

In most cases, first-degree sexual abuse is a Class C or Class D felony.

Second-Degree Child Molestation in Kentucky

Second-degree sexual abuse charges apply if the defendant is at least 18 years old but younger than 21 years old. Under Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 510.120, someone 18, 19, or 20 can be charged with second-degree child molestation if that person subjects a child who is younger than age 16 to sexual contact.

Second-degree child sexual abuse is a Class A misdemeanor.

Our lawyers at Suhre & Associates, LLC defend clients accused of all types of sex crimes, including statutory rape, sexual assault, child pornography, and domestic violence. If you were arrested for a sex offense in Kentucky, don’t hesitate to get the legal help you deserve today. Just call our offices to schedule a free case evaluation.

What are the Penalties for Child Molestation in Lexington, Kentucky? 

Child molestation is a serious crime. In addition to a lengthy jail sentence and post-incarceration parole, you’ll immediately be subjected to the social stigma that attaches to crimes of a sexual nature. 

If you are convicted of child sexual abuse, judges in Kentucky will use the following sentencing guidelines in assigning your punishment:

  • Class A misdemeanor offenses carry 90 days and 12 months in jail and a financial penalty of up to $500
  • Class D felony offenses are punishable with between one to five years in prison and up to $10,000 in financial penalties
  • Class C felony offenses carry between five and ten years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines

Defendants who are convicted of molesting children in Kentucky are also subject to statewide sex offender registration requirements. You’ll be required to register as a sex offender with local law enforcement in the state for at least 20 years after you’ve served your jail time. In the most serious cases, registration requirements can be lifelong–and you’ll also be required to register if you move to another state.

Sex offender registration carries a broad array of negative consequences in and of itself–especially if the victim of the sex crime was a child. 

You may face restrictions like:

  • Being unable to work in certain professions
  • Being unable to live near a school or daycare
  • Computer monitoring by local police officers
  • Mandatory drug and alcohol testing
  • Being barred from visiting certain websites

Importantly, details of your crime can also be made available to the public, along with personal information like your address and photograph.

Do you need help fighting child molestation charges? Our lawyers have been helping clients like you for many years. Call our law firm in Lexington today to get the legal advice you deserve.

What Defenses Can Be Raised if I’m Accused of Child Molestation? 

A strong defense is usually the only way to beat or minimize accusations of child abuse. You don’t have to sit back and wait for the prosecution to convict. It’s always a good idea to get started building your defense immediately. Our lawyers can get to work as soon as you suspect you’re under investigation. 

Not every defense will work in every criminal case. However, some examples of defense strategies that could be effective in your case include:

  • Arguing the prosecution had insufficient evidence to convict
  • The sexual contact alleged in your case was unintentional or accidental
  • Lack of knowledge about the presence of a minor
  • False accusations–which unfortunately often become an issue in child custody battles
  • Mistaken identity or alibi–proving that you were somewhere else when the crime occurred

Our lawyers will also work to identify any constitutional violations during your arrest, interrogation, or arraignment. For example, if you made an incriminating statement after arrest and without a proper Miranda reading, we may be able to get the statement thrown out. 

If the police searched your home or vehicle without probable cause or a valid warrant, any evidence they found can be excluded from your case. Without full evidence, we may be able to get the charges against you downgraded or even dismissed in some cases.

You need a lawyer with experience and resources to build the strong defense you deserve. At Suhre & Associates, LLC, our defense team includes former prosecutors and police officers with in-depth knowledge of the criminal defense system here in Lexington. We’ll create a custom-tailored defense strategy designed to get the charges against you dropped or reduced. 

To get started, all you have to do is contact us for a free consultation.

Schedule a Free Consultation With a Lexington Child Molestation Attorney

When you choose Suhre & Associates, LLC to protect your interests, you can rest assured that you’ll have a lawyer you can count on by your side. To learn more about our practice areas and how we can help, call today to schedule a free consultation with an experienced Lexington child molestation attorney.