It’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Lexington, KY. If you have been arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI), it’s important to understand the Lexington DUI penalties that may apply in your case. Our experienced Lexington DUI lawyers at Suhre & Associates, LLC, can help you fight the charges and minimize the consequences of the arrest.
Our lawyers have over 100 years of experience between us. Over the years, we’ve helped countless clients fight their DUI charges – and win.
Table of Contents
How Suhre & Associates, LLC Can Help if You’re Facing DUI Penalties in Lexington
A DUI arrest can be overwhelming. You might wonder how the charges will impact your freedom and your future. With an experienced Lexington DUI lawyer on your side, it is possible to get out of a DUI charge without significant penalties.
Our team of experienced lawyers at Suhre & Associates, LLC will do everything possible to build the strongest defense possible in your DUI case.
Hiring us means you’ll have a lawyer to:
- Provide sound legal advice and guidance
- Identify all defenses that might be effective in minimizing your DUI penalties
- Gather evidence to support your case
- Handle all negotiations with police and prosecutors
- Protect your constitutional rights every step of the way
Over the years, we’ve been recognized by Super Lawyers and by The National Trial Lawyers’ “Top 100 Trial Lawyers”. We’ve also earned a perfect-10 Avvo rating for client service. Our team includes former police and prosecutors who know how to get the job done.
Call our experienced Lexington DUI attorneys for a free case evaluation if you have questions about Lexington DUI penalties.
Overview of the DUI Penalties in Lexington, KY
Under Kentucky DUI laws, it’s illegal to operate or control any motor vehicle if:
- Your BAC reading is 0.08% or greater (0.02% if you’re under age 21)
- You are under the influence of alcohol
- You’re under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance that impairs your driving ability
- Certain controlled substances are detected in your blood (including cocaine, methamphetamines, and other drugs)
A blood alcohol content reading is 0.08% or more is treated as a “per se DUI.” That means you can be convicted even if the police can’t prove that alcohol impaired your driving ability. However, the police must administer the chemical test within two hours of arrest for the results to be considered as evidence in your case.
Fighting back is the only way to minimize the penalties for a DUI conviction. Our lawyers in Lexington can help you build the strong defense you deserve. Just call our law firm to schedule your free case review today.
Penalties for First-Time DUI Offenders in Kentucky
The penalties for a DUI depend on the circumstances and the number of prior DUI convictions you’ve had within a ten-year period.
Most of the time, first offense DUI will carry the following penalties in Lexington:
- Between 48 hours and 30 days in jail
- Between $200 and $500 in fines
- Community service
- Driver’s license suspension for between 30 and 120 days
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
The court will also order you to complete a substance abuse treatment program that lasts at least 90 days.
Penalties for Repeat DUI Offenses
For a second DUI offense within a ten-year period, Lexington DUI penalties include:
- Between seven days and six months in jail
- Between $350 and $500 in fines
- Community service
- Substance abuse treatment for at least one year
- Driver’s license suspension for between 12 and 18 months
Third-time DUI offenders can be ordered to complete an inpatient or residential substance abuse treatment program, in addition to:
- Between 30 days and 12 months in jail
- Between $500 and $1,000 in fines
- Driver’s license suspension for between 24 and 36 months
A fourth DUI conviction is a Class D felony–a serious criminal offense. Class D felony charges carry a potential punishment that includes between one to five years in prison.
How Do Aggravating Factors Impact Lexington DUI Penalties?
Your sentence can be enhanced if certain aggravating factors are present. Generally speaking, aggravating circumstances include factors that make a crime more serious.
You could be subject to an enhanced jail sentence that would otherwise apply if:
- You refused to submit to a chemical test
- Your BAC reading was 0.15% or higher
- You were operating the motor vehicle in excess of 30 mph above the speed limit
- You caused an accident that resulted in serious injury or death
- You were driving in the wrong direction on a limited-access highway
- A passenger under the age of 12 was in the vehicle
For example, if you’re convicted of a second DUI, and your BAC was .18%, you will be required to serve at least 14 days in jail.
Penalties for Underage DUI
Even a slight trace of alcohol can result in an underage DUI conviction if you aren’t at least 21 years old. If your BAC was 0.02% or higher, you wouldn’t be sent to jail. However, you can be ordered to complete a substance abuse treatment program. You’ll also face up to $500 in financial penalties and/or community service requirements.
Questions About Lexington DUI Penalties? Call Suhre & Associates, LLC for a Free Consultation
Police and prosecutors take drunk driving seriously. If you were arrested, call an experienced DUI lawyer at Suhre & Associates, LLC, to learn more about the potential Lexington DUI penalties that may apply in your case. We offer a free initial consultation, so don’t hesitate to reach out for help immediately.